Hi, New Here And Just Made My First Cake

Decorating By VanessaT Updated 19 Apr 2010 , 4:56pm by VanessaT

VanessaT Posted 18 Apr 2010 , 8:49pm
post #1 of 17

Hi, I am new to the forum. Didn't see another place to introduce myself so hope this is the right spot. I'm Vanessa and live in Texas with my husband and right now we have two foster kids. Our foster daughter just turned one and I made her cake! After the local bakery quoted me an outrageous price for a two tiered 6 and 9 inch cake I decided to make her cake. Well, now I think I have a new passion! LOL I've never done cake baking/decorating before so I was pretty happy how it turned out. I did make a few test cakes the week before the party. I can't wait to look around the site and I'm sure I'll find all sorts of ideas! =) Anyway, here is a picture of the cake I made....
LL

16 replies
prterrell Posted 18 Apr 2010 , 8:53pm
post #2 of 17

Wow! great job on your first cake! That is very impressive! Although, now that you've done all the work, you can probably see WHY cakes aren't cheap, it's the skill, artistry, and time that you're paying for! icon_biggrin.gif

Just so you know, for future posts, non-cake related stuff goes in the "Lounge".

Welcome to the wonderful and addicting world of caking! There is a LOT of great information to be gleaned by reading these forums.

VanessaT Posted 18 Apr 2010 , 9:02pm
post #3 of 17

Thanks! Oh, yes, I know why they're expensive.....but the cake I was trying to order was even simpler than the one I made! LOL Now that I've done one and it was so much fun (except for a few frustrating moments) I will probably be making all our cakes. =) I definitely won't be paying $250 for a cake! Well, until her wedding anyway. =)

frankdiabetes Posted 18 Apr 2010 , 9:14pm
post #4 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by VanessaT

Well, until her wedding anyway. =)

By that time you'll be so skilled at cakes you'll be able to make a fabulous wedding cake for her icon_smile.gif.