Are You An Artist Or A Business?

Business By indydebi Updated 24 Apr 2010 , 11:04am by SallyBratt

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 18 Apr 2010 , 8:01pm
post #1 of 41

I get a periodic email from "The e-Myth" organization with mini articles. We talk frequently about the question "Are you an artist or are you running a business?" and this article addresses that.

The good news is you CAN be both! thumbs_up.gif

http://www.e-myth.com/cs/user/print/post/entrepreneurial-artist-to-business-owner

"The e-Myth" by Micheal Gerber is my #1 recommended book for anyone going into business.

40 replies
cakemom42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemom42 Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 12:18am
post #2 of 41

Thanks Debi!
This is a good one I was unaware of.. I use a lot of other sites to help me in my business and am always looking for more :0)

JenniferAtwood Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JenniferAtwood Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 1:16am
post #3 of 41

I am an artist that runs a business icon_smile.gif

cheatize Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cheatize Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 3:28am
post #4 of 41

I am both. My son and I talk about this every once in awhile. He is about to graduate with his Associate's in Digital Media Design. Every quarter the student club hosts a gallery show. The other students goof off before, during, and after. My son makes sure his work is displayed properly, that refreshments are provided and displayed attractively, dresses neatly, speaks to the guests, and helps clean up afterwards. You can't just toss something on the wall and expect your greatness to awe the crowd and entice them to give you buckets of money.

I am both and he will be both. It not just about the art or just about the business.

I'm off to read the article now. Thanks!

mkolmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mkolmar Posted 19 Apr 2010 , 4:13am
post #5 of 41