Help

Decorating By bunky48 Updated 18 Apr 2010 , 6:34am by dtdonnahoo

bunky48 Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 10:07pm
post #1 of 19

I am having trouble with my cakes today. Im making the duncan hines classic white I have never had trouble before. I doubled the batter. they come out looking good. I cool them for about 20 minutes in the pan and then go to flip them and they are sticking and falling apart. What do I do?? I have another one in the oven now. Could it be because it is a new pan. it is th 12 inch square wilton.

Wanita

18 replies
mamawrobin Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 10:11pm
post #2 of 19

I only cool in pan for 10 minutes. When I flip to cool I use a cake board to support the cake and another to flip it onto. Does that make any sense? I'm not very good at describing things sometimes icon_razz.gif You need to support the cake or it will fall apart on you.

Did you use a straight box mix or did you doctor it up? Add extra egg and a pudding mix or maybe the cake extender receipe from this site? I NEVER use a straight box mix. Just not sturdy enough for my cakes.

Also I don't think it's your pans causing them to stick. Do you use bakers joy or homeade pan release? I never bake a cake without properly coating my pans. They will stick everytime if not.

mamawrobin Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 10:14pm
post #3 of 19

I also line the bottom of my pan with wax paper. Some line the entire pan but I line only the bottom. That way if it certainly will never stick to the bottom of the pan.

leah_s Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 10:20pm
post #4 of 19

I use pan grease, line the bottom and then run a cake spatula (a skinny one) around the outside edge.

bunky48 Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 10:20pm
post #5 of 19

they are straight box mixes. when I flip them out of the pan I flip them onto a rack I never had any problem maybe I am letting them cool in the pan to long??

bunky48 Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 10:22pm
post #6 of 19

I use shortening and flour to grease my pans.

bunky48 Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 10:24pm