98 Degrees... Really?

Decorating By 4acescakes Updated 18 Apr 2010 , 7:55am by 4acescakes

4acescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
4acescakes Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 7:05am
post #1 of 12

icon_eek.gif My very fabulous cousin is getting married in the middle of August at a beach resort in southern California. The bakery doing her cake says that the all butter cream three tiered cream filled cake can stand up to 98 degree heat for 4 hours or more. Now I am no expert, ive only been doing cakes for a few years but I would never leave a cake out in that heat for that long. I would be very worried it would not only droop and melt but wont that effect the butter cream and filling, maybe make a few folks sick? Let me know what you think all, I would sure hate for her to find out the hard way that that is too long to leave it out. If you have any sources for your info that would be great as well so I can site her examples if it turns out it is a no no to do. THANKS!!!!!!

11 replies
karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 7:57am
post #2 of 12

If memory serves, according to servsafe, if something is <41 degrees when you take it out of the fridge, you can keep it without temp control for 6 hours as long as you either serve it all or toss it at the end of that period of time. (I'm doing this from memory without looking it up, so cut me some slack....I never do this, my stuff doesn't require refrigeration) I can look up the specifics later. At any rate, if they are saying that, they must know what the specs of their product are and what the guidelines are or they'd be putting themselves in one heck of a dangerous position.

Toptier Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Toptier Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 2:12pm
post #3 of 12

They probably use a hi-ratio shortening, not butter, in their "buttercream". Butter would melt at 98 F.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 17 Apr 2010 , 2:20pm
post #4 of 12