Confused On Crumb Coating...

Decorating By LoJay Updated 16 Apr 2010 , 5:50am by mayo2222

LoJay Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 3:11am
post #1 of 10

Hello everyone! icon_smile.gif

I am a first time baker here..... I am making a three tiered cake covered in fondant. I made the marchmallow creme and butter cream icing recipe that I found on this site to use a crumb coat on my practice cake. It looks like it is very soft and won't hold up well if there is any heat....

Can somebody recommend a crumb coat for underneath my fondant? I am confused about crusting vs non-crusting, etc. Thanks!

Lauren

9 replies
crisseyann Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 3:19am
post #2 of 10

I don't do fondant cakes, but lately I have been reading that alot of people on this site are using ganache. It sets up nice and firm for a nice, smooth base for fondant. HTH. icon_smile.gif

SunshineSally Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 3:36am
post #3 of 10

Indydebi's buttercream can't be beat. I will never use another buttercream recipe. However, using ganache under fondant is awesome!!!!

mamawrobin Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 3:40am
post #4 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SunshineSally

Indydebi's buttercream can't be beat. I will never use another buttercream recipe. However, using ganache under fondant is awesome!!!!

Once I finally made Indydebi's buttercream I've never used any other. I have to agree it's awesome. I use it under fondant all the time.

thescrapmaster Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 3:51am
post #5 of 10

TFS! I am a newbie too. Where can I find Indydebi's buttercream??

Creative_Cookies_Cakes Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 4:08am
post #6 of 10

Look under the recipes tab at the top. Then you can type what you are looking for in the search filled.

mayo2222 Posted 16 Apr 2010 , 4:26am
post #7 of 10

http://cakecentral.com/recipes/6992/indydebis-crisco-based-buttercream-icing

Heres the link you want. Creative Cookie brings up a good point, make yourself familiar with the search bars as its a great tool to know how to use