Easiest Way To Make Fake Popcorn?

Decorating By King-Girlz Updated 20 Apr 2010 , 6:12pm by cherryse

King-Girlz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
King-Girlz Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 3:01pm
post #1 of 14

Attempting a cake for a movie buff. Making the 6 inch round cake into movie reels and I wanted to put a little container off to the side on the cake board just to add to it the whole theme.
I was going to make the popcorn container out of tylose gumpaste. Let it dry, line it with red stripes and then I wanted to fill it with "fake" popcorn.
What is the easiest way to get his look?
Go easy on me now...I am new to this! Hee!

13 replies
KimAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KimAZ Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 3:27pm
post #2 of 14

I've made popcorn out of fondant by rolling a small ball, then using a scriber tool ( had a knife shape on one end, a point on the other), I just make 3-4 slices into the ball, then pinch out each section randomly. Then I paint the center with yellow luster dust and viola!

KimAZ

SpudCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SpudCake Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 5:08pm
post #3 of 14

Use mini marshmallows. Cut an X in the top on one and then squeeze the bottom slightly to open the top. I then used a yellow food pen to put a little "butter" on them. This is how I made the popcorn for my circus cake in my pics. Very easy!

Joanne usaribbon.gif

jenng1482 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenng1482 Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 5:27pm
post #4 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpudCake

Use mini marshmallows. Cut an X in the top on one and then squeeze the bottom slightly to open the top. I then used a yellow food pen to put a little "butter" on them. This is how I made the popcorn for my circus cake in my pics. Very easy!

Joanne usaribbon.gif

I did the same but drizzled yellow candy melts lightly over the top.

l80bug79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
l80bug79 Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 5:50pm
post #5 of 14

Elisa Strauss has a tutorial on the satin ice webiste.