Please Help Fix My Stodgy Cake Problem. Need A Cake For Tmoz

Baking By chimbabweep Updated 15 Apr 2010 , 11:33am by Malakin

chimbabweep Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 9:43am
post #1 of 9

Help...

my names Kim. Im new to cakecentral.

Im tryin to make a 7" round 3" deep cake. It cooks round the sides but stodgy in the middle?
What am i doing wrong?

Im new to cake making and its my friends birthday i told her id make a cake.

Im using a basic victorian sponge recipe. I am filling the tins 1cm from the top. is this wrong? please help.

New recipies and baking setting would be of great help. icon_sad.gif xxxxx

8 replies
Caths_Cakes Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 10:03am
post #2 of 9

it sounds like your baking at too high a temperature, so your sides are cooking before your center, try cooking on a lower temp but for a longer amount of time.

untill you get the hang of scratch baking, i would try using a boxed mix ( like betty crocker) for your friends cake, it will taste lovely and there usually pretty fool proof icon_smile.gif

Chiara Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 10:04am
post #3 of 9

I am thinking by stodgy in the middle you are meaning domed? You can cut the cake down if is high.
The recipe you are using is fine. You can look up recipes and frostings here along with fillings.
Another option for height is insulating the cake pan with insulation strips if you can find them where you live.
You can also spin the cake pans a little so that the batter goes towards the outer part of the tin then bake it.
Make sure the cake is cooled down completely before you cut the domed portion off.
I hope this helps.

brincess_b Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 10:10am
post #4 of 9

just sounds like you need to bake a bit longer at a lower temp icon_smile.gif i usually do mine about gas 3.5, at least 40 minutes but probably more. you could split the batter, do two layers, about 20 minutes each then.
xx

chimbabweep Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 10:14am
post #5 of 9