Moulds And Veiners For Hydrangea's

Decorating By Alenya Updated 16 Apr 2010 , 11:19pm by Rylan

Alenya Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Alenya Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 6:25am
post #1 of 10

Hey everyone

I'm new to CakeCentral, just signed up tonight actually after about two hours of looking over the site and reading some great tips.

However I didn't find what I had gone Googling for in the first place. I figured I would sign up and ask here as lots of you have a good deal of experience under your bakers caps. icon_lol.gif

So here's the situation. Two of my dearest friends is getting married soon here and they've asked me to make there wedding cake(s). I was more then happy to say yes and excited to have this chance.

I designed the cake and got her request and got so ahead of myself that I forgot a few key things at the time.

Those are:

I've never made a wedding cake, never done a tiered cake. Never touched Fondant or Gum Paste and having the faintest clue of to make Hydrangea's.

Now her flowers are blue Hydrangea's and the cake I've been planning is a two tier vanilla with white fondant and gum paste Hydrangea's with pastel green chocolate butterflies.

But on top of that I'm making 400+ cupcakes, half chocolate and half peanut butter. Each to be decorated to match her main cake.

I really want all of this to make her go icon_eek.gif

Now what I've been looking for is a Veiner for Hydrangea's. I've found a few but they all make larger flowers then I'm looking for. I would like the flowers to be no larger then 1 inch, smaller is possible.

Here's what I've found so far.:

FMM - Multi Flower Veiner
Hydrangea Floramat Set by First Impression Molds ((Not sure if this one does the front and back of the flower.))
Hydrangea Blossom Set (SV-020) by Sunflower Sugar Art ((This one looks great but is bigger then what I want.))
Scott Clark Wholly Cutter, Veiner and center set.
Hydrangea Cutter Set of 4 by JEM Cutters