Certification???

Business By ericaspastries Updated 5 Jan 2011 , 3:30am by Annabakescakes

ericaspastries Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ericaspastries Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 3:10am
post #1 of 25

I am new to cake decorating and would like to have my own business. I recently gave my info to an upcoming bride and she got back to me saying the venue where her wedding/reception is being held will not let any baker bring in anything unless they are certified. My question is what do they mean by certification? Is is LLC or do they want some proof of training or what?
Any advice/help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

24 replies
BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 4:14am
post #2 of 25

More than likely they mean "licensed".

Some states are very strict about baked goods being provided by licensed bakeries. A natural follow thru on that is that venues become responsible for certifying that baked goods provided by outside vendors come only from licensed vendors.

In some cases, that means that the baker must show a valid state license before the venue will allow the cake to be served.

Rae

littlesweetpea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlesweetpea Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 1:58pm
post #3 of 25

It could also mean certified as a food establishment manager(Servsafe). Occassionaly I will have a restaurant want my bakery license & my food certification. With the increasing health issues, many places are getting stricter for their own safety.

cakesdivine Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesdivine Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 2:27pm
post #4 of 25