Fondant Coloring -Need Help Asap

Decorating By Henna20 Updated 15 Apr 2010 , 6:37pm by Marianna46

Henna20 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Henna20 Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 12:44am
post #1 of 10

I'm pretty new at working with fondant. I am trying to color the fondant with wilton colors (only ones i could get on short notice) and with the purple and pink all of the red from the coloring is getting absorbed into my hands instead of into the fondant! so the purple looks like blue and the pink is looking closer to orange. i also need to match buttercream to the fondant. when i tested out the color on the buttercream its a completely different color. there is no way i could match the fondant color to the buttercream color.
what should i do??!?!??!

9 replies
mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 12:49am
post #2 of 10

First of all ALWAYS wear gloves when you're dying fondant. Second..what kind of fondant are you using?

labrat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
labrat Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 2:36am
post #3 of 10

DItto to above!
Sounds like your fondant has whiteners in it - they interfere with any red tones and undertones.

Henna20 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Henna20 Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 11:28am
post #4 of 10

oh no! does that mean there is no hope for the coloring?

labrat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
labrat Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 4:11pm
post #5 of 10

Depends on what brand you are using and what colour you are actually trying to get.

alehman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alehman Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 4:20pm
post #6 of 10

I am having the same trouble with fondant. I am using a marshmallow fondant and trying to die it red is taking alot of color and making my fondant dry. How do I prevent this from drying out and cracking?

CakeSliceGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeSliceGirl Posted 15 Apr 2010 , 4:42pm
post #7 of 10