Bubble Tea Straws Vs. Sps

Decorating By DeeDelightful Updated 16 Apr 2010 , 5:55pm by DeeDelightful

DeeDelightful Posted 14 Apr 2010 , 9:18pm
post #1 of 17

I am doing a 14", 12", 10" inch wedding cake. I am wondering if cake boards and bubble tea straws are suitable support for this size cake. I'm trying to decide between the cake boards (which i'm familiar with using) and the SPS (which I have never used). Thanks.

16 replies
marknelliesmum Posted 14 Apr 2010 , 9:43pm
post #2 of 17

Oh I am in the same situation although not till next year my prob is I cant source sps in the uk and it's very expensive to import it. I'm a hobby baker and my best friend wants me to do her wedding cake - very plain n simple design which I can modify as per my talent or should I say lack of lol but the thought of the stacking and transporting terrifies me especially as I'll have to set it up and attend the wedding hence my interest in this post hopefully someone in the know will advise 

idgalpal Posted 14 Apr 2010 , 9:51pm
post #3 of 17

Leah-S where are you??
Leah_S is the SPC resident expert. She can tell you everything there is to know about it!

marknelliesmum Posted 14 Apr 2010 , 10:30pm
post #4 of 17

Sps would be my choice if it didn't cost me way over the odds to import it -is the Wilton version as failsafe as I'm sure that is available overhere ( sorry don't mean to hijack this post)

iamcakin Posted 14 Apr 2010 , 10:40pm
post #5 of 17

Hands down, SPS.

This system can't shift like straws/dowels. I've transported a 6 tier wedding cake 60 miles over rough country roads - including some pretty steep/curvy mountain roads. It's very cost effective, especially when you figure in your peace-of-mind! icon_smile.gif Seriously it will make your trip worry-free!

If you haven't yet done so, take a look at the sticky leah_s posted at the top of the "How Do I" forum.
[/b]

Rylan Posted 14 Apr 2010 , 11:24pm
post #6 of 17