Shipping Cookies Help

Baking By Dreme Updated 14 Apr 2010 , 8:15pm by Relznik

Dreme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dreme Posted 14 Apr 2010 , 6:01pm
post #1 of 5

By any chance do any of you know how to ship cookies without breakage? How do you get into shipping cookies? How does selling, taxes, laws, etc across each state work? (How does that work with any business selling across states?)

If this has been asked already does anyone know what threads they are? Im completely new to selling cookies out of state.

TIA

4 replies
luv2bake6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2bake6 Posted 14 Apr 2010 , 7:50pm
post #2 of 5

Find a box that is big enough to fit your cookies plus packing material. Line the box with the material (bubble wrap, newsprint, tissue paper, etc). I like to wrap each packaged (in cello bags) cookie in either tissue or bubble wrap and then line them up like soldiers. Put more packing material on top and seal. Now put that box into a larger box that has been lined as well. Seal and ship.
I've done this a few times for friends who live out of the state but have never shipped as part of a biz so i can't answer your questions about laws, taxes, etc.

bonniebakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieMeister Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookieMeister Posted 14 Apr 2010 , 7:57pm
post #4 of 5

I'm a horrible thread searcher. So I'll tell you what I know.

Check this site for info on sales tax across state lines:

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/article-29919.html