My First Decorated Cake....icing Crackly??

Decorating By SusanKB Updated 13 Apr 2010 , 8:37pm by SusanKB

SusanKB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SusanKB Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 6:06am
post #1 of 9

This is my first time decorating a cake. I'm taking classed at Michaels. I used Buttercream Icing (Wilton Recipe). It came out very crackly. Does anyone have any ideas on how to keep it from becoming crackly? Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
LL

8 replies
redpanda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
redpanda Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 7:05am
post #2 of 9

Two things that I know of can cause the crusted icing to crack. The first is waiting too long to smooth the icing. If it is too crusted, it will crack. The other is having too little support under the cake, so the cake flexes a bit when the cake is moved, which makes the crusted icing crack. I don't know why they make the cake boards so thin, especially for the larger sizes. You have to double or even triple them to prevent the flexing. (Or use something thicker like foamcore or masonite)

MerlotCook Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MerlotCook Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 12:39pm
post #3 of 9

I had this happen to one of my cakes. Indydebi suggested I add a bit more milk to my frosting and I haven't had the problem since. You might want to give that a try, just to make sure your frosting isn't too dry to start with.

poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 1:13pm
post #4 of 9

My first suggestion: Use Indydebi's Buttercream Icing. Here's the link:

http://cakecentral.com/recipes/6992/indydebis-crisco-based-buttercream-icing

I would also agree with redpanda: Don't wait to long to smooth, and make sure your cake has a strong base.

HTH. Good luck.

Mama_Mias_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mama_Mias_Cakes Posted 13 Apr 2010 , 2:54pm
post #5 of 9