Had To Lie To Get Them To Back Off!!

Decorating By tsal Updated 13 Apr 2010 , 4:42pm by tsal

tsal Posted 12 Apr 2010 , 11:43pm
post #1 of 7

Everyone wants a cake. I'm a hobby baker with no business aspirations at this point. I have been approached to start a business a few times (one offer consisted of this: I would do all the work and my business "partner" would give me a cut - needless to say, I laughed.

Anyway, I'm getting LOTS of requests from friends, family and aquaintances. I don't mind baking for free for good friends and family, but won't do so for friends of friends or aquaintances. Some of them won't take no for an answer and they want to pay me, so I now tell them that it is illegal to sell cakes from my home (that's the truth). Then they started saying (I swear, it's like they coordinated this), "no one has to know." I have found that if I say,"but it is wrong and I won't put myself in that position." arguing follows. So, my latest retort is that I have been warned by the HD already in one of those "no one has to know" cases, and I'm never doing it again.

Automatic shutdown - no argument. I'm against lying in general, but I have bent my own rule in this case. My real friends and family know the truth!

6 replies
cakedesigner59 Posted 12 Apr 2010 , 11:51pm
post #2 of 7

I know what you mean. I just shut down my business and am getting calls to continue, but I let my insurance go, and I won't put myself in that position (take that risk), even though technically I still have my business license and have been inspected. I guess you should be flattered, but it gets to the point where they just won't take a hint! And it's illegal to hit them over the head with your rolling pin, I think. icon_smile.gif

cakesbycathy Posted 12 Apr 2010 , 11:54pm
post #3 of 7

If it saves you from the headache from an arguement that a little white lie in this case is fine thumbs_up.gif

bbmom Posted 12 Apr 2010 , 11:56pm
post #4 of 7
Quote: