My Cake Disaster Makes Me Want To Quit!

Decorating By Heavenlydelights107 Updated 22 May 2010 , 9:28pm by Juneclever

Heavenlydelights107 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Heavenlydelights107 Posted 12 Apr 2010 , 2:04am
post #1 of 25

So I made a beautiful 3 tiered cake for a acquaintance of mine. It was a fairy themed cake, pink, purple and hot pink layers, with flowers, white picket fence, mushrooms and a nice fairy (all made from fondant) on top.

I doweled each layer, and put a long dowel thru the cake. When I got to the destination, the cake had slid and leaned to the left and the middle tier cracked.

I am just mortified and of course charged less and fixed what I Could fix for her.

I am so bummed, and have been having issues lately with my cake. I used boxed cake, and the wilton recipe icing.

I just turned down a wedding cake because I am now terrified that something will happen.

I have been doing cakes for about 5 yrs now and never have I felt this unsure of my skills.

Anyone go thru this?

Not to mention, I just read on someones facebook "I did hear about the cake drama" which now is making me feel horrible.

24 replies
Mencked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mencked Posted 12 Apr 2010 , 2:22am
post #2 of 25

You need to use SPS made by bakery crafts--Fabulous support system, your worries will be over and you will make many more beautiful cakes in the future. Check out Leahs sticky on SPS. I used SPS for the first time on my 7-tier wedding cake a year and a half ago and haven't looked back! http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1272309

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 12 Apr 2010 , 2:24am
post #3 of 25

I do not use regular dowels. I either use bubble tea straws or the SPS system. Regular dowels displace cake where the other 2 ways of doing it doesn't, the supports are hollow. I sorry that happened to you.

Jan14grands Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile