Four Tier Wedding Cake Question

Decorating By GuinnessTigger Updated 13 Apr 2010 , 1:03pm by leah_s

GuinnessTigger Posted 11 Apr 2010 , 9:46pm
post #1 of 10

I live in RI and we just experience terrible floods here which have impact a lot of local businesses. A friend of a friend found out just two weeks before their wedding that they will not be able to get their cake from where they planned due to the flooding. They have asked me to make their cake so they will have one for their wedding. I have never done a wedding cake before, so I am very nervous. They do know that I have never done a wedding cake before and were just happy to have anything.

I have done a lot of 3 tier cakes, but never one that is 4 tiers. When I do the 3 tiers, I don't use a center dowl. (I do use dowls between each tier.) With the additional weight and height I am concerned about not using a center dowl - but also concerned about using one because I have never done it before.

Can someone let me know if it is critical that I use a center dowl? Also, if I do use one, do you typically sharpen it and pound it into all the layers after stacking? I'm worried the sharpened dowl will not go through the cake boards under each tier.

Thank you so much for your help! I don't think I will be able to sleep until this cake is made and delivered!

9 replies
ptanyer Posted 11 Apr 2010 , 9:54pm
post #2 of 10

Do you have time to order SPS? If so, do it and your cake will be just fine and you won't need dowels in each tier as well as the center dowel. If you can't, then you should sharpen your dowel and use a rubber hammer to put the dowel down through all 4 tiers. This of course is in addition to the dowels you put into each tier for support. I did a 7 tier last May and the SPS was the secret to complete and successful stacking and delivery.

Good luck icon_smile.gif

cakesbyperla Posted 11 Apr 2010 , 10:27pm
post #3 of 10

What is SPS?