Cracking Fondant Figures Will Be The Death Of Me!

Decorating By LadyinaRedApron Updated 23 Feb 2014 , 4:02am by acakedecorator

LadyinaRedApron Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LadyinaRedApron Posted 11 Apr 2010 , 3:44am
post #1 of 15

I'm getting SO frustrated! icon_cry.gif

I'm new to molding with fondant and gumpaste. I'm trying to make some figures and I cannot for the life of me get rid of the cracks. I'm using fondant that I colored myself. I rolled my fondant into seamless balls but from there it cracks as I mold it into other shapes. Are there any tips out there to help me? Would it be easier to use original white fondant and then "paint" it with gel colors?

I'm wanting to get these done before I have to put them on the cake I need to make in 2 weeks.

Any help is appreciated... GREATLY!

TIA!

14 replies
eccl1-12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eccl1-12 Posted 11 Apr 2010 , 4:10am
post #2 of 15

I can sympathize- I have experienced the cracking gumpaste/fondant too. Even in plain white. When I tried plain fondant without gumpaste, however, the figures got shorter and fatter all by themselves. If anyone around here has a fix, I would be interested in hearing it myself. I was thinking of rubbing RI into the cracks before I paint what I have sitting in there hardening now, but I don't know if it will work.

KATHIESKREATIONS Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KATHIESKREATIONS Posted 11 Apr 2010 , 4:54am
post #3 of 15

I personally use Marshmallow Rolled Buttercream Fondant with Tylose added for strength. I have no problem adding color to my fondant & I just kneed it into the fondant unless I have a big batch of colored fondant to do & then I add the color with the melted marshmallows. If your fondant/gumpaste is cracking, add some shortening to your fingers & work it into your fondant/gumpaste...this always works. Also, keep your fondant/gumpaste covered until you are ready to use it to help prevent it from drying out. HTH~~~