Car Inside A Tractor Trailer?

Decorating By MacFancier Updated 2 Jul 2010 , 3:26pm by MacFancier

MacFancier Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MacFancier Posted 10 Apr 2010 , 3:40am
post #1 of 8

My son has specifically requested a Mack truck (from the "Cars" movie) with a Lightning McQueen car inside the trailer. I am an advanced novice decorator willing to try things, and in my mind I was trying to conceive a chocolate-sided box of sorts for the trailer and a Hot Wheels McQueen inside, with a carved cake for Mack's "head." The bulk of the cake for eating could be a base decorated as a road.

So my biggest problem is the chocolate box idea. Will this work? Is there something better? How would you put graphics on the sides of the trailer?

7 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 10 Apr 2010 , 11:56am
post #2 of 8

yes chocolate would work

but for lightness sake and easier decorating I'd use gumpaste.

then can easily adhere an edible image to it or hand paint it to get the graphcis.

could even use thin sheets of gingerbread or large cookie (square variation of pan cookie -- need recipe that doesn't spread or trim to size fresh from oven.) then could paint with cookie icing.

cakemom42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemom42 Posted 10 Apr 2010 , 12:27pm
post #3 of 8

Ditto on Doug's reply... Pastillage would do the same trick :0)

A basic Jaconde recipe baked on parchment paper would work for the cookie idea... It's a thin & light sponge cake...gingerbread might be too heavy (but worth a try)..

Send us pics when your done can't wait to see this one :0)

MacFancier Posted 10 Apr 2010 , 9:10pm
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by cakemom42

Send us pics when your done can't wait to see this one :0)

You and me both!!

Thanks for the ideas guys. I was thinking a cookie wouldn't be stable enough for some reason. I'll browse around here for gum paste or pastillage information as I've never used them.