How Do I Get These Effects On My Cookies Using Royal Icing?

Baking By mom2spunkynbug Updated 9 Apr 2010 , 6:41pm by cricket0616

mom2spunkynbug Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 2:19pm
post #1 of 8

The first technique is where there are polka dots on the cookie/design...but they are not "on top" of the base color of icing...it's like they are flat & "in" the base coat of icing. How do you do that?

The other technique I've seen...it looks like there are lines, but there aren't. Maybe not lines, so much as indentations like lines - anyone know what I'm talking about? icon_redface.gif I would think that it would be easy to do if there are different colors, but I don't understand when it's the same color!? It almost seems as though one part is made, then left to dry, then the other part is made...

Know what I mean?

7 replies
iheartcupkakes Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 2:38pm
post #2 of 8

for the dots just add them when the first color is still wet..
but im no expert on this..
good luck

KHalstead Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 2:53pm
post #3 of 8

it would be REALLY helpful if you could locate some photos of the techniques you're curious about......then everyone that is familar with it could help you out!

ayerim979 Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 3:11pm
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by KHalstead

it would be REALLY helpful if you could locate some photos of the techniques you're curious about......then everyone that is familar with it could help you out!

I was just gonna suggest the same thing, to add a visual

Joyfull4444 Posted 9 Apr 2010 , 3:29pm
post #5 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by mom2spunkynbug

The first technique is where there are polka dots on the cookie/design...but they are not "on top" of the base color of icing...it's like they are flat & "in" the base coat of icing. How do you do that?