Summer Wedding Cake Flavors

Decorating By Braaatz Updated 6 Apr 2010 , 6:09pm by Kellbella

Braaatz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Braaatz Posted 6 Apr 2010 , 3:38am
post #1 of 7

Help! I'm doing a cake for my cousins wedding in july and she has no idea what she wants. I have no idea what the typical flavors are for that time of year or what i should suggest for her to taste. I am just starting out and she has offered to help get my cakes out there by paying me for this wedding cake. But i am so lost. I've got the decorating down to a T but as for the filling and type of cake to do for her....i am stumped. Please, if you could direct me in the right direction...lol...i would sooooo greatly appreciate it!
Thanks
LL

6 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 6 Apr 2010 , 3:53am
post #2 of 7

To me cake flavors are not seasonal. I like white cake in the winter just as much as I do in the summer, and so do most people. I hate pumpkin cake in the fall as much as I hate it in the spring.

Ask her what kind of cake she likes; what kind of cake her guests will like.

BecuzImAGurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BecuzImAGurl Posted 6 Apr 2010 , 5:37am
post #3 of 7

I dont know much about popular flavors but I say Chocolate...I bet maybe only one out of a hundred people who wont like chocolate and it practically matches alot of other flavors. There is White cake with any kind of raspberry filling, it has been a VERY popular flavor all year around. Lemon is very summer-ish, refreshing in ways...do a lemon curd with a butter cake or white cake. sometimes simple is best...satisfying and easier on your brain. =)

Since you have a beach theme cake...is that why you had that picture? If it were me I pick something very tropical, something mango, coconut or pineapple...but I also have to be careful because people may have allergies or very picky about these flavors...

Braaatz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile