Newbie - Where Do I Start?

Decorating By Beth51 Updated 5 Apr 2010 , 6:57pm by Beth51

Beth51 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beth51 Posted 3 Apr 2010 , 6:09pm
post #1 of 17

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time here and I am also new to baking/decorating cakes. I have made two batches of cupcakes (here in the UK we call them "fairy cakes") and the response from family and friends was excellent! I did a basic recipe and decorated them with basic lemon flavoured buttercream/silver balls etc that I bought from my local supermarket.

I would really like to go into cake decorating in a bigger way, eventually maybe setting up a small business from home but I don't know where to start on what equipment to buy? I would be really grateful if anyone could advise on the best equipment/utensils to buy for a novice/beginner? I have looked online and there are so many tools and products you can buy - it is almost like a language of its own?! lol!

I do intend to enrol at a local college on a cake decorating course but in the meantime would really appreciate any advice or help? I looked on ebay and have ordered a basic set of metal piping ends so that I can begin learning how to make fondant leaves, petals etc.

I had to give up full time work a few years ago due to my youngest son being very ill with a brain tumour and suffering from long lasting problems following surgery. I have found making cakes and decorating them very therapeutic, something I enjoy so much and hopefully, eventually something I will be able to make some money from.
Any help/advice would be very gratefully received!

Many thanks!

Beth xx

16 replies
JaimeAnn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JaimeAnn Posted 3 Apr 2010 , 8:55pm
post #2 of 17

Hi Beth!

First of all Welcome to CakeCentral! There is a TON of things here to help you , from helpfull advice, pictures, recipes and a great group of suppotive friends that share your passion for baking and decorating.