Cake Boards, What Do You Use?

Decorating By prbakingmama Updated 3 Apr 2010 , 3:02pm by 2txmedics

prbakingmama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prbakingmama Posted 2 Apr 2010 , 12:53am
post #1 of 9

Hello everyone! I'm a newbie to cc. I'm interested in knowing what do you all use to cover your cake boards and why. I have seen some really interesting colors and patterns here and I'm really curious.

Thanks in advance for your responses! icon_biggrin.gif

8 replies
poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 2 Apr 2010 , 1:09am
post #2 of 9

I like to match a wrapping paper to the color scheme. I cover the board with wrapping paper and then cover that with clear contact paper. Next, using double sided tape, I stick a plain cake board to the contact-paper-covered board so the cake doesn't actually touch the plastic.

I think fondant covered boards look very elegant, but I work in buttercream, so the paper works for me.

Just one idea; let's hear some more.

Christen99 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Christen99 Posted 2 Apr 2010 , 1:19am
post #3 of 9

I just made one today actually. I used 3 cakeboards, and glued them together. I glued some scrapbook paper to the board, and then attached ribbon to the side of the boards to hide the cardboard because the paper wasn't big enough to extend over the sides of the cakeboard. After all of that, I covered the entire thing with a layer of plastic wrap.

I'm making a treasure chest cake for my little guy, and I couldn't find any wrapping paper I liked to match. I found some scrapbook paper yesterday that is covered in antique keys, and I thought it would be cute since he is obsessed with treasure chests, locks, and keys.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 2 Apr 2010 , 1:21am
post #4 of 9

Cake drums. Easy.

dguerrant Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dguerrant Posted 2 Apr 2010 , 4:14am
post #5 of 9