After Only 3 Years Of Caking, I'm Ready To Call It Quits!

Decorating By suesweet Updated 26 Mar 2010 , 5:30pm by designer3941

suesweet Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 3:11pm
post #1 of 19

So, I have been decorating for about 3 years and I'm am already burnt out. I don't know how you all do it. I feel like I have no life and wonder if it's all really worth it. Maybe this is just not my calling. I used to be excited about doing cakes, but now I just feel dread and anxiety when called for an order. I think part of the problem is that I just don't think it is worth my time. You all know the amount of time and energy that goes into one cake, and at the end of the day, I am not making enough money to justify it. Especially since it's just me baking, making icing, decorating, cleaning up, etc. It is sooooo much work. Really, how do you all do it?

18 replies
cricket0616 Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 3:17pm
post #2 of 19

I am sorry to hear your frustration. Do you do this on a full time basis or on the side?

sadsmile Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 3:26pm
post #3 of 19

Yup and if you're running a business... as one of my friends said, "Decorating is only about 15% of my work week." She is sooo right! It's not just about pretty icing and decorations.

suesweet Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 3:28pm
post #4 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by cricket0616

I am sorry to hear your frustration. Do you do this on a full time basis or on the side?

I do it on the side. I work 30 hrs during the week elsewhere.

KHalstead Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 3:30pm
post #5 of 19

suesweet I am SO WITH YOU on this right now...............I find myself dreading every cake order!!! Sometimes I wish I'd never started this whole cake thing!!

jhay Posted 26 Mar 2010 , 3:37pm
post #6 of 19

If it's just a side gig, I'd suggest that you do one or two every now and then that you really want to do and de-stress! See if the passion comes back. If it does...AWESOME! If not, you can do family and friends birthdays and call it done.