Cake Making Is Suddenly Turning Into Something More...help!

Decorating By Swanfam Updated 25 Mar 2010 , 11:46pm by JanH

Swanfam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Swanfam Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 7:14pm
post #1 of 6

I have been making cakes for all of my family members for a few years now. Recently I had a friend ask me to do her son's bday cake. Then another friend asked. Then another. Suddenly I have people asking my friends and family how to get ahold of me to order a cake.

I was asked today if I have a website or a business card. The answer is no. I have been doing this for family out of my own kitchen. I'm excited, because I LOVE cakes, but now I'm a bit worried and need some advice from you more experienced CCers.

I was thinking about starting a cake blog with my portfolio and contact info, but now by big question is licensing/insurance/etc. I have NONE of that...not even a food-handler's permit. I'm not sure if I'm ready to take those steps yet either....so what do I do?

Is it okay to continue making cakes for people who contact me through word-of-mouth? Do I need to have some kind of disclaimer about not being a professional? Am I worrying about this too much? Any and all help will be sincerely appreciated.

5 replies
ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 7:28pm
post #2 of 6

If you keep taking orders - you are a business no matter which why you slice the cake. icon_wink.gif

Will you be an illegal business? Yes
Can you be a legal business from home? You have to check into your state and local laws.
If you're not sure you're ready to take those steps - then don't. You have to be fully committed. 100%.

And because YOU want to, not because other people force you into it. When I started it was very much because I need the extra cash. As I grew, I become much more serious about it. Before then, it was no. I don't make cakes for sale.