What Happened?

Baking By SassySweetz Updated 25 Mar 2010 , 10:12pm by SassySweetz

SassySweetz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SassySweetz Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 12:31am
post #1 of 14

Today I was going to make my reg. NFSC from here on CC. Well, my last baking time my whimpy mixer had a hard time keeping up. (I dont have a KA yet, I'm still a little new to the cakes/cookies! So I decided to cut the recipe in half. Well, befor I could get to that......silly me....! went off the path and decided to try the "roll out cookie" recipe that can be found on the back of most Wilton comfort grip cookie cutters.
I followed the recipe to the T! I did all my "normal" steps that I follow when I make the NFSC's. When I pulled the cookies out of the oven! OMGGGGGGGGGGGG icon_cry.gif they had all spread and didn't look like Easter eggs and butterflys anymore!
Can anyone tell me what happend? This was my first time using that recipe. I guess maybe I should have stuck to the old trusty NFSC! I've never, ever had a cookie lose shape when I've used the NFSC recipe? I can't understand why these cookies did this?

TIA ladies!
Ash

13 replies
shelbycompany Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shelbycompany Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 12:41am
post #2 of 14

I only use the NFSC recipe. I guess that's why they call it "no fail". I don't really know why they spread out so much but I do know why I use the NFSC.

SassySweetz Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 12:49am
post #3 of 14

DITTO! The one time I venture out I don't get the results I was looking for! I guess it's back to NFSC!

kimmyboo925 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimmyboo925 Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 12:59am
post #4 of 14