Do You Quote Per Flower?

Business By Tellis12 Updated 1 Apr 2010 , 4:04pm by leah_s

Tellis12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tellis12 Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 2:04am
post #1 of 12

I have a bride who has requested a large flower cascade on the side of her cake. I've never done the cascade thing before so I'm not exactly sure how many flowers it will take so I'm hesitant to quote her a per flower price, in case I'm wrong on my estimate. Do I need to do that or can I do a flat price for it?

11 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 2:07am
post #2 of 12

It's your business. Price it however you feel the most comfortable. Just remember that this is going to be very time consuming (especially if it is gumpaste flowers, not piped flowers), so charge accordingly!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 2:33am
post #3 of 12

Agree with prterrell.

I never charged extra for BC roses cascading down the sides. If I had used gumpaste flowers, there would be an extra charge, of course.

But I wouldn't charge "per flower". You KNOW there are brides out there who would count the flowers and heaven forbid you were ONE short, which in her mind would mean she should get the whole cake free because you RUINED her wedding!

Nope. Not even going to open that door.

Any "above and beyond" work was billed under "Design Fee" and it was a flat fee for any of the extra's (gumpaste flowers, my city skyline in hand-cut chocolate, my glass-n-mirrors dessert stand)

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 3:24am
post #4 of 12

I do charge per flower and if I have to use a few extra I just do.
PS I charge enough per flower that I'm really OK, cost-wise.

chellescountrycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chellescountrycakes Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 2:43pm
post #5 of 12