What Is Your Dream Kitchen Layout/equipment?

Business By KReeves Updated 14 Apr 2010 , 5:20am by indydebi

KReeves Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KReeves Posted 22 Mar 2010 , 5:01pm
post #1 of 22

Hi! I'm fairly new to cake decorating, but my parents have very supportively decided to fund my little business. They are building a shop for me on my home property (yes, we're going along with all the proper zoning laws for our area) that will measure approximately 14 x 30. I will have a small area set separated from the rest for consultations, tastings, etc..., but I would like some input from more experienced decorators about how you would go about organizing the actual work area. I have many items already, including airbrush, Cricut, tons of decorating supplies, etc..., but is there any equipment you just can't live without (or would love to have)? icon_smile.gif

21 replies
jillmakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillmakescakes Posted 22 Mar 2010 , 7:55pm
post #2 of 22

Definitely designate some space for office stuff.... even if it is just a small desk. You'll be amazed how much stuff you'll want to keep just at the shop.

I absolutely love my rubbermaid storage drawers. use them to organize all kinds of stuff.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 8:57am
post #3 of 22

whatever you allocate for shelving and storage area ... double it. You'll need it in about 3 months or less.

Clear, stackable drawers, clearly labeled, are inexpensive and great to have for extra storage. Vertical storage ... good! VERY good!

My only regret when putting my kitchen together was that I got a very nice walk in refrigerator ... but only a 2-door freezer. I actually needed more freezer space than refrigerator space in the long run!

Reneesg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Reneesg Posted 23 Mar 2010 , 11:57am
post #4 of 22