Using Gumpaste

Decorating By Thanksharla Updated 22 Mar 2010 , 12:19am by ceshell

Thanksharla Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 2:14am
post #1 of 10

I have a road of life cake coming up this summer and I would like try using gumpaste to make the signs. I've never used gumpaste before so practicing beforehand is on my list of things to do.

What tips do you have for me? What recipe do you use?

Thanks

9 replies
LeckieAnne Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 3:53am
post #2 of 10

I only buy mine premade. The only tip I've learned (I don't use it a lot) is that it dries out fast - so keep it covered while you're working - and have a plan of attack - because I feel like you have to work quickly. Signs aren't too hard though. I made a sign for a construction cake - and after it was completely dry - I used a food marker to draw on the lines and whatnot. Good luck.

ceshell Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 5:34am
post #3 of 10

I too purchase Wilton GP premade and use my 40% off Michael's coupon. I mean, nobody's going to eat it, so who cares how it tastes.

My one tip for road signs would be to remember to put your support (toothpick? What will you use to hold the signs up) into the gp before you set it out to dry! Sounds obvious but it can be easy to forget. I like to go in while it's drying and rotate the toothpick several times to keep it loose in there, so that the toothpick doesn't stay stuck in the piece. Why? In case it's too short/long/whatever...I can remove it and replace it.

Also gp dries best on a porous material; I use a wood cutting board rather than a plastic mat or glass dish when I set it out to dry. I shake a little cornstarch on the back to help prevent sticking. I like to dry mine in the oven (heat OFF, light on...with a sticky note on the oven door that says "Do Not Turn On Oven!!"), but wherever you choose to dry them, make sure it is away from any sunlight as the colors can fade.