Help - White Fondant Over Dark Choc. Ganache

Decorating By erilay Updated 21 Mar 2010 , 4:06am by erilay

erilay Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 12:44am
post #1 of 18

Does anyone know if u use dark ckoc. ganache on a cake and cover it with white or light fondant if I mess up and have to redo it will the ganache stain my fondant. I am doind a topsey t tier and know I will have to try more than 1 time to cover it. If I peel it off and re-roll will it have stains in it or bc it is set will it be ok???? I need help ASAP. I am doing it now icon_cry.gif .

It is a choc. cake so I want to use choc. ganache.

17 replies
Kibosh Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 12:56am
post #2 of 18

Sorry I've never done it before, but don't you have a little left over that you can test it out on before you try it? Maybe that will tell you your answer. Good luck Erilay! hopefully someone more experienced helps you soon.

erilay Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 1:01am
post #3 of 18

I only have frozen ganache. Maybe I will defrost but I am baking now and want to know before I put it in the pan. If it is not going to work I will have to go to a plan B and make the bottom vanilla instead of the top. I just really don't want to do that. icon_sad.gif

Tellis12 Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 1:13am
post #4 of 18

There is a good chance at least a bit will come off on the fondant and stain it. Could you use a white chocolate ganache instead?

Kitagrl Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 1:16am
post #5 of 18

Yeah it will come off on your fondant some...Just try to work carefully and don't get too nervous...

dalis4joe Posted 21 Mar 2010 , 1:19am
post #6 of 18