Home Bakers - How Many Cakes In One Weekend?

Decorating By tsal Updated 20 Mar 2010 , 6:07pm by shanasweets

tsal Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 6:54pm
post #1 of 16

Hi,
I was reading a thread the other day about home bakers (can't remember exactly what the topic was), and some of bakers were posting that they do 14 or so cakes in one weekend. I could not stop thinking about it because I am a hobby baker and it takes me a few hours to do a single cake.

Just wanted to say that my hat is off to you home bakers who can complete so many cakes in a weekend! Wow!!

15 replies
kellertur Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 7:17pm
post #2 of 16

My licensed home business is by appointment only. Because it's in our home (and because I'm a "at home" Mom & wife) I try to only do one per weekend. I could handle more, but then I'd have no time for my family on the weekends. You may get several different answers and it's amazing how some people can manage many, many cakes so quickly. icon_smile.gif

Best of luck to you. icon_smile.gif

costumeczar Posted 20 Mar 2010 , 12:45am
post #3 of 16

I cranked out two sheet cakes, a fish groom's cake and two small tiered cakes by noon today. Two more tiered cakes this afternoon (both small ones, though) and I'm going to go finish the topsy turvy one now. Then I'm going to collapse.

tenleysmommy Posted 20 Mar 2010 , 12:59am
post #4 of 16

I am just a bake for friends kind of person.It beats the heak out of shopping for a gift icon_wink.gif !And the most I have done is 3 cakes,and I felt like I would die.I do have a 2 yearold and 9 month old.I could never imagine doing that many.But when its your job and you are getting paid it might make it easier! icon_lol.gif

kellertur Posted 20 Mar 2010 , 1:00am
post #5 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by costumeczar