Airbrushing Questions

Decorating By zebramom Updated 20 Mar 2010 , 2:10am by Win

zebramom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zebramom Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 4:01pm
post #1 of 4

My husband is being ultra supportive and bought me an airbrush. However....

I have never used one before and don't even know if he bought me the right thing.

It's just a regular airbrush that he bought at Harbor Freight. It's a Central Pneumatic Professional brand. Is there a special food grade one? How do I mix the food coloring to be used in the airbrush?

I don't have the first clue what I'm doing and could really use some help from those of you that do this on a regular basis.

3 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 4

There are cake ones but you can use others. You do want one that you can adjust the airflow on. Some will blow to hard and tear up the icing on the cake.

They make airbrush colors, there is a liquid form that you don't have to thin down. You just use it out of the bottle. Americolor makes some, as well as others.

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 20 Mar 2010 , 1:58am
post #3 of 4

Print out some simple coloring book pages to practice on with the airbrush, after you are comfortable "staying in the lines" - then move on to some real cake! Just play with it - the more you do, the easier it is to get used to.

Win Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Win Posted 20 Mar 2010 , 2:10am
post #4 of 4