My 2 Yr Old Grandson In The Hospital

Lounge By ShelleyMJ Updated 1 Apr 2010 , 11:08am by ShelleyMJ

ShelleyMJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShelleyMJ Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 12:04pm
post #1 of 21

Brycen, my 2 yr old grandson was transported from our local hospital to Vanderbilt Childrens Hospital in Nashville, TN last night.

About 6 weeks ago the medical team found Pseudomonas bacteria in is bloodstream. (I am not a medical professional so I don't know alot about it) It was found in his white blood cells. He spent 10 days in the hospital and was sent home with a pick line to administer medication. Two weeks later the pickline was removed and he appeared to be doing better.

Yesterday my daughter called to inform me he had 103.6 fever and they were on the way to the hospital. This time, after blood cultures, they found the bacteria is in both white and red cells. (I have no idea what this means, but it sure doesn't sound good.)

I understand that this bacteria is attacking his little kidneys and the little guy is in alot of danger. I have been told it can cause blindness, deafness, paralysis and the unthinkable...... (I'm starting to cry!)

I have been reading all I can find on this and none of it makes any sense to me. If there is anyone out there that can enlighten me, please step forward. I want to arm myself with information and what I am finding on line doesn't provide much hope.

Please pray for my grandson! The li'l guy has been through so much.

Thanks

20 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 19 Mar 2010 , 12:09pm
post #2 of 21

Shelley,