Buttercream Icing Under Fondant??

Decorating By rachaelsmom Updated 18 Mar 2010 , 11:09pm by superstar

rachaelsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rachaelsmom Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 9:38pm
post #1 of 9

I am new to decorating and was wondering why people use buttercream and then put fondant on????

Thanks icon_smile.gif

8 replies
RobzC8kz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RobzC8kz Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 9:53pm
post #2 of 9

Hi there! Welcome to CC!

I'll take a whack at this one. I may not be 100% on the money, but hey...it works for me.

When covering a cake in fondant, you need something for it to stick to so it will lay flat and smooth against the underlying cake. Also, having some sort of "glue" under the fondant will help keep it from slipping down the sides of the cake and ending up in a big heap at the base of your cakes.

Also, fondant covered cakes are preferred over BC covered cakes because fondant is much smoother and more uniform in appearance than some BC covered cakes tend to be. But there are decorators out there who can make BC very smooth! Fondant is also much more forgiving during transportation than BC cakes can be.

BC is not the only glue you can use. Some decorators in other countries cover their naked cakes in fruit jams or glazes, then cover that in marzipan then put fondant over the marzipan. You can also use royal icing, piping gel, or pretty much anything to get that fondant to stick to your cake.

Now...since most people's experience with fondant has only been with the Wilton variety, they hate fondant and think of fondant as a non-edible covering that you peel away before eating. I've even heard fondant compared to the "wax on cheese." In that regard, some like a very thin fondant layer for appearance with a nice thick layer of BC underneath for flavor.

CakeandDazzle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeandDazzle Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 10:12pm
post #3 of 9