Cookie Decorating Session For Senior Citizens?

Baking By Anna31 Updated 19 Mar 2010 , 4:13am by Sara789

Anna31 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Anna31 Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 8:15pm
post #1 of 6

Hello! I am doing 3 20 minute sessions at the local middle school for the Senior Citizens in our Community. I need to come up with a design that they can do with out frosting bags. Something they can do by frosting with a plastic knife and placing candy's, mini marshmallows, chips or anything like that. I'm kind of thinking about doing round NFSC and having them do watermelons but can't think of a good way to do the rind. Any suggestions? This is my first year for doing this. Would love some help. icon_wink.gif

Thank you! Anna

5 replies
Sara789 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sara789 Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 10:30pm
post #2 of 6

Hey, great idea and great for you doing it. I've run several card making sessions for senior citizens, but never cookies.

From that experience I suggest you have some samples for people to see as a finished product. Some of the seniors couldn't come up with things to do on their own, so they relied heavily on the finished sample or asked me at each step what to do.

Also, different kinds of sprinkles are always good. The larger shapes would probably be best since they are easier to get a hold of. Plus, easier to clean up. You can put little bowls of different types of sprinkles on the tables (I'm not sure what your set up will be).

I think having them ice with a knife and putting on chips, sprinkles, marshmallows, etc. is perfect. You'll be amazed at the different ideas people come up with (you probably already know that).

I hope this helps.

Anna31 Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 10:54pm
post #3 of 6