Transporting

Decorating By SmrLovinGrl Updated 17 Mar 2010 , 8:34pm by Renaejrk

SmrLovinGrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SmrLovinGrl Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 2:16am
post #1 of 4

I'm pretty new to cake decorating, I've been doing it for about a year. I was wondering if anyone could help me with a few questions I have. I am doing a 3 tier spiderman cake this weekend and I need a few tips. How do I transport the cake? For other cakes I've done there are cake boxes that I can just slide them into. But I'm not sure how to do that with a 3 tier cake. Also, do I just put each tier on a cake board and set it on top of the larger tier with dowels in it or do I put them on a separater plate? Please help!!! Thanks.

3 replies
cakemom42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemom42 Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 11:10am
post #2 of 4

Hello :0)
Depneds on how you are stacking the cakes. I don't use boxes but others will never leave without them. It's your preference.
Always use seperator plates & some sort of dowel system. It will keep you from many a cake disasters.
When stacking I use the "Stress Free" cake support system. I love it & have used it in all my large works. the number is 605-583-2393 they are in SD. & the website is: www.weddingcakesupports.com
Hope this helps :0)

SmrLovinGrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SmrLovinGrl Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 8:22pm
post #3 of 4

How do I put the tiers on cake separaters without them showing. The separaters that I bought from Michaels have "feet" on them. If the bottom tier has dowels in it and them I put the separaters on top of that wont it stick up?

Renaejrk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Renaejrk Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 8:34pm
post #4 of 4