Question About Baking Timeline!!!!

Decorating By andyneal331 Updated 21 Mar 2010 , 12:30am by ladyonzlake

andyneal331 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andyneal331 Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 1:38am
post #1 of 23

I have a two tier cake to make for a birthday party on Saturday at 11am. I definitely want to have it fully decorated by Friday night before I go to bed. Is Thursday too soon to bake and ice the cakes??? Then decorate Friday?

Also, I would like opinions on things to use for cake support on a two tier cake.. It'll be 10 inch two layer and 8 inch two layer!

And I would like to know if you stack the cakes before you go to the party..such as on Friday..What do you cover it with so it doesn't dry out?

Thank you for any help!!
Sincerely - The Newbie!!!!

22 replies
MalibuBakinBarbie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MalibuBakinBarbie Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 1:48am
post #2 of 23

Hi! I'm a hobby baker, and that is the timeline that I would follow. I don't freeze cakes, so therefore I like to make things as close to the event as possible. For support I use Cake Jacks. As for the stacking, as long as it they are indeed stacked tiers (one on top of the other, no pillars, etc.), you can stack ahead of time. Best of luck with your project! icon_smile.gif

Oh! One thing though! I would carefully plan making the decorations! If you're using gumpaste, fondant, royal icing and such, you can do those way ahead of time so they're set, dry, color-dusted, steamed, etc. and ready to go on the cake Friday! thumbs_up.gif

andyneal331 Posted 17 Mar 2010 , 2:10pm
post #3 of 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalibuBakinBarbie