Fondant Help!

Decorating By JCope79 Updated 26 Mar 2010 , 3:58pm by pinkchef1217

JCope79 Posted 15 Mar 2010 , 6:30am
post #1 of 11

I need to know how you all make stuff with fondant...and, get it to look neat? Everytime I use fondant it looks messy and stretched out. Any good tutorials out there? Advice you can give me? I'm making my son's first b-day party cake and I want it to look awesome! I'm needing some pointers! Thank you!

10 replies
Rylan Posted 15 Mar 2010 , 6:51am
post #2 of 11

Hi JCope79, what exactly are you looking for. Figure making? Accents? or covering the cake in fondant?

Here are some tutorials that might help you:

BASIC TUTORIALS: http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-654103.html

FIGURE MAKING TUTORIALS: http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-672099.html

JCope79 Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 7:30am
post #3 of 11

a little bit of everything actually. I'm new to fondant. Thank you for the links!

JCope79 Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 7:41am
post #4 of 11

and, wood. I need to know how to make fondant look like wood planks. This is for my son's 1st birthday party. icon_smile.gif Thank you!

jayne1873 Posted 24 Mar 2010 , 8:21am
post #5 of 11

Mix some brown colour with vodka and paint strokes onto the fondant in the same direction, will look like wood icon_smile.gif

pinkchef1217 Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 3:57am
post #6 of 11

Hi im new to fondant too and I have a cake that is just Buttercream iced with some black accents. its a small stacked tier cake (2tiers) if I ice them do you think I could apple the small amount of fondant accents and place it in the fridge over night?
The reason I ask is because I love to put them in the fridge to make the cake more solid and less likely to get messed up when the customer has to transport the cake from my location to theirs.

thanks =]

ladyonzlake Posted 25 Mar 2010 , 4:18am
post #7 of 11