Looking At The Mmf Recipies Here And..

Decorating By LuvLyrics Updated 24 Mar 2010 , 2:14am by LuvLyrics

LuvLyrics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LuvLyrics Posted 14 Mar 2010 , 3:24am
post #1 of 17

Hi I 've been reading all the different recipies we have here for mmf fondant. I've never made it before and I right now I like Satin Ice. I am pretty new at this, so I've never covered whole cake with fondant either, I have to be honest and confess that I am intimidated by covering a whole cake with fondant.

I was wondering..why do some recipies have glycerin and others don't? and Is there a recipe favored my many here?...

P.S as I was reading about glycerin I found out that there are different types of glycerin, I read about many people buying it at pharmacies, so.. to those getting it at pharmacies..please make sure it says it's food safe..since glycerin it's also used to make soap....I am sure many of you know this already...but us newbies need this info. icon_biggrin.gif

Thanks All!
Anna

16 replies
cake-angel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cake-angel Posted 14 Mar 2010 , 6:01am
post #2 of 17

My favorite is Toba Garrett's fondant recipe. Others have sworn by Michelle Foster's fondant recipe. I have not tried that one personally but I intend to so i can compare.

I have tried Marshmallow fondant but honestly didn't care for it in both workability and taste. I find it overly sweet and difficult to roll out.

As for glycerin in the recipe - it helps to add some elasticity to the fondant and aids in workability. I have made fondant with and without and prefer fondant recipes that include glycerin. I have bought it at the drug store before after consulting with the pharmacist. The one I bought is the one prescribed to be given orally to infants. Wilton also sells small bottles of it.

Anyway - I vote for trying Toba's fondant.

LuvLyrics Posted 14 Mar 2010 , 7:00pm
post #3 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by cake-angel