Need Info On Commercial Kitchen Rental

Business By buttercup1016 Updated 5 Apr 2010 , 4:47am by ladyonzlake

buttercup1016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
buttercup1016 Posted 12 Mar 2010 , 11:30am
post #1 of 6

Hi guys,

I'm totally new at this and I was hoping to get some info and advice on renting space in a commercial kitchen. I am a hobbyist but I've been getting so many requests for cakes, including business owners who have asked me to post flyers, leave business cards, etc. I can't do any of that unless I'm on the up & up and there's just no way for me to build a second kitchen in my home (which is required for permits in my state)

I wanted to approach several local restaurants or caterers and I just want to have a little information before I go in. For those of you who do this already:

where do you rent?
are you covered under the kitchen's license/permit?
do you have a written agreement with the kitchen owner?
what does it entail?
I know it varies regionally, but what do you pay? Is it hourly, weekly, monthly?

If you have any advice or info I would totally appreciate the help! I need some direction before taking that first step! RIght now I don't know if I can even afford to get started. Thanks!!!

5 replies
lacie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lacie Posted 12 Mar 2010 , 12:01pm
post #2 of 6

hello fellow floridian icon_smile.gif
i just went through all this!
it took me 1 1/2 years to find a place that would let me rent their place. i rent out space from a caterer, i pay $50 per personal use. they also use me for all thier deserts and i charge them a discounted rate.
you have to get your own licensing and permits for your own business, if you were an employee you would be covered under theirs.