What's In A Business Plan

Business By Spectra Updated 10 Mar 2010 , 2:43am by Christy0722

Spectra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spectra Posted 9 Mar 2010 , 6:17pm
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone. I'm just looking for what I need to put in a business plan. I've never done one before and never have taken Business courses. So I have no idea really what it is.

I have found that in my area we are allowed to bake from the home and sell as long as we are licensed by the Department of Health, which is something like $50. My plan is to start in 1 year to sell cookies at my local Farmer's Market. I know the cost for that is $20 registration fee, and a $20 booth rental fee per market day, which is only once a week.

That's all I really know so far. I'm guessing I need to figure out signage, a business name, costs for that, costs for containers, product, ingredients, bags, tags, ribbons, etc. But is there anything I'm forgetting or just not thinking of?

Thanks for any input! icon_smile.gif

8 replies
flourpowerMN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flourpowerMN Posted 9 Mar 2010 , 6:34pm
post #2 of 9

A business plan is a very detailed account of what you want your business to look like, who you're going to serve, what you're going to produce/market, where you're getting your $$ from, projections for first year income vs expenses and...and...and.

It's very thorough. I recommend going to Entrepreneur.com and checking out some sample business plans. Your state or local Small Business Development Agency should also have some resources for you.

You can also google for business plans + home based bakery. That should yield some good results as well.

Spectra Posted 9 Mar 2010 , 7:00pm
post #3 of 9

Thank you for the information and the link! icon_smile.gif

MnSnow Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MnSnow Posted 9 Mar 2010 , 8:11pm
post #4 of 9