Royal Icing Transfer

Decorating By cupcakeshelley Updated 17 Mar 2010 , 6:43pm by cupcakeshelley

cupcakeshelley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakeshelley Posted 7 Mar 2010 , 2:25pm
post #1 of 9

Hi I am just beginning and everything I have learnt is from youtube etc. However, I would really like to do a royal icing transfer and have it standing up on a cake like the picture above which is by cakehelp here on cakecentral. Could anyone please explain in simple terms how I do this?

Thanks So much x x

8 replies
cake-angel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cake-angel Posted 7 Mar 2010 , 4:54pm
post #2 of 9

Basically take stiff consistancy royal and pipe all of your outlines. Then work with one color at a time and thin it until it takes about a 10 second count for a drop of icing to completely disapper into the thinned batch. Put in a parchment cone and seal up the back. Make a small snip so that you have a small hole in the tip of the parcment for the icing to flow out of and start filling in your pattern. I recomend working from the outline edges towards the center. You want to work quickly enough for the royal not to dry before you are done filling in so it all blends well.

bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 9 Mar 2010 , 1:31am
post #3 of 9

When you use dark colors for the outline, you should let it dry longer, right cake-angel? Do you know how long? And how long total does it need to dry?

I'm wanting to do a baseball logo in this technique and I need help too icon_lol.gif

cake-angel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cake-angel Posted 9 Mar 2010 , 2:38am
post #4 of 9