First Wedding Cake! Please Help Me!!

Decorating By ikapicka13 Updated 6 Mar 2010 , 5:08pm by ikapicka13

ikapicka13 Posted 6 Mar 2010 , 3:14am
post #1 of 6

Hello all. My boyfriend's best friend's fiance has asked me to make their wedding cake. Now she IS aware that I've never done one before, but I'm still feeling the pressure for it to be absolutely perfect.

My first practice cake has been a disaster! The bc would not smooth out at all, so the fondant would also not smooth out at all! I did find some info about the Melvira method and think I might try that, along with the flower nails in the cake to make it bake a little flatter.

BUT what is the best way to smooth out the fondant? I have one of the Wilton fondant smoothers and was wondering if this is the best method?

I also have to make a green bow for the top, with the bow ends kind of flowing down the sides of the cake. I don't like how the bow looks (it has kind of a matte finish) any ideas? Also, any ideas on how to get a somewhat shiny peridot color? Mine came out a little too gray.

Lastly, the cake itself is a coffee pound cake with a chocolate mousse filling. I got the consistency of the batter and filling perfect, but after trying instant coffee, espresso powder AND brewed coffee, I'm running out of ideas because I still cannot taste it!

Sorry for the laundry list of questions! Any help is greatly appreciated!

5 replies
lorieleann Posted 6 Mar 2010 , 6:42am
post #2 of 6