Which Type Of Fondant?

Decorating By CakesByJenna Updated 6 Mar 2010 , 11:32pm by Jack031

CakesByJenna Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 10:47pm
post #1 of 18

Is there a difference in quality, appearance, ease of use or tase between MMF, regular fondant, and pre-made fondant? Which recipe do I use??? I am new to the cake world an LOVING every minute of it!

17 replies
mslesuer Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 11:08pm
post #2 of 18

Hi CakesByJenna:
I'm new too and I love using Satin Ice rolled fondant....it taste great and is very easy to work with!
HTH

Ladybug09 Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 11:10pm
post #3 of 18

I think it's a personal preferance. I have used MMF & I now use Satin Ice & I love Satin Ice.

noahsmummy Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 11:12pm
post #4 of 18

if your looking to make fondant yourself; i would say start with mmf! rhondas ultimate mmf is great. i tried to make regular fondant myself, which ended in disaster, mmf is really easy, and great to work with. =) im a total newbie too.. if that counts for anything...lol. ive never used store bought fondant so i cant comment there.

tyty Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 11:14pm
post #5 of 18

I use MMF and have used Satin Ice fondant. Satin ice is pretty easy to work with but you have to make sure you add shortening because it dries out if you're not really fast.

metria Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 11:23pm
post #6 of 18

I just recently gotten over my shyness for trying another fondant recipe other than MMF. I've tried Toba Garrett's and Michele Foster's Update recipes (both on this site). I really like Toba's because it's pretty simple and in convenient proportions.

In my humble opinion, if you're going for taste, go MMF. If you're going for looks, I like gelatin/corn syrup (like the 2 recipes I mentioned) because it's easier for me to work with.

LuvLyrics Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 11:33pm
post #7 of 18