Freakin' Out...looking For Support

Decorating By Bella214 Updated 4 Mar 2010 , 7:20pm by Bella214

Bella214 Posted 4 Mar 2010 , 6:05pm
post #1 of 11

So apparently, I am selling my first cake. My sons best friends mother asked me to make a cake for her birthday. I thought this was just a favor but she mentioned today that she has a budget of 60.00 and now I am freakin' out. This cake is going to be seen by people.....it is going to an event with her and I just don't think I am that good. I am still learning and have a lot to learn.

It is red velvet with strawberry filling. The icing is to be green, red and yellow (the colors of the African flag), and I am shaping it as the shape of Africa. It is to all be done in butter cream, and she wants the colors to be vertical stripes in each color across the cake. She also wants a chocolate cake topper like a hairdryer or something to represent her profession.

I am completely freaked out. She knows I am not a pro, but now I feel like this has to be an amazing cake and there is no room for mistakes, which normally, I don't worry much about because I am still learning.

Do you all have any tips on carving, icing or just moral support to lend? LOL I probably sound silly, but I feel so.......worried!

10 replies
Kiddiekakes Posted 4 Mar 2010 , 6:13pm
post #2 of 11

Well..personally a carved cake and extra chocolate topper etc would be way more than $60.00 so by her basically telling you how much she wants to spend and this is what I want is very pushy...Now that being said I also know you are very new as you said so this is a good opportunity so have fun with it.For future reference....don't let the customer dictate to you about price etc..You will soon learn that everyone will want a cake from X because she is cheap and that is a very hard stigma to get rid of if you ever decide to do it as a business.JMO icon_smile.gif

metria Posted 4 Mar 2010 , 6:26pm
post #3 of 11