Opinions Needed Please.

Decorating By katies_cakes Updated 7 Mar 2010 , 6:56pm by cathyscakes

EvMarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EvMarie Posted 4 Mar 2010 , 10:16pm
post #31 of 51

Oh boy - I know the cost adds up big time. I did an 8 inch topper cake and 150 cupcakes on a stand for a distant cousins wedding. He was a sweet boy last time I remembered him & so I was happy to help. He just said...our wedding colors are red & gold. Do what you like. icon_smile.gif

This sounds a bit over the top. Since you already have the set of 3 pans, I like the idea of just adding one of those pans as the "extra" servings. I don't think it matters what shape they are. Just the servings. What gets you the servings & is the least amount to frost and transport. One of those pans you just bought will do fine I think.

I'm no expert at stacked cakes...but I know the few times I've tried them, I just needed to keep the design simple & manage my timeline, and all was fine.

Also sounds like you need an assistant! Got another friend, sister, or mum? Maybe they'd be happy to help. Sounds like you'll need somebody to vent to!!! Just don't panic. Don't be afraid to tell your friend that in order to make sure her cake is great, you can't add all these other "variables".

Not sure how good a friend she is, but just be honest with her. Tell her it would be difficult for you to add anything more than the 3 stacked cakes, 1 kitchen cake, and cupcakes. As well as transport & set up in fancy clothes.

I don't know about you...but, I'm a clutz. I'd for sure get buttercream in my cleavage and not even know it!!!! Ha ha ha

katies_cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katies_cakes Posted 4 Mar 2010 , 10:55pm
post #32 of 51