Need Help!! Have A Tier Stacking Question!!

Decorating By kellyg Updated 3 Mar 2010 , 11:39pm by kellyg

kellyg Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 8:27pm
post #1 of 8

Hi! I haven't posted here much, but I have an easy question...I think!!
I'm really new at this whole cake decorating thing, I've only done 3 fondant cakes (which turned out really good)! I am doing a rather large 3 tiered cake for a baby's first birthday. I've never done 3 tiers before, only 2. I'm doing a 6" on top, 8" middle, and 10" bottom.

My question is about stacking the tiers on top of each other. HOW on earth do you get them level? LOL!! I had a little trouble with the 2 tier cake I did, so I am TERRIFIED of stacking the 3!! I am really good at decorating the cake, and molding things with fondant, just can't seem to get the darn cake level!

Any tips or advice? Should I make a slight indention in the icing/fondant for the cake tier to sit in? I level the cake itself after it's cooled down, then ice it....somehow it always seems to lean a little when I put it together!

Also, what should I use as a base to hold this heavy cake? I bought a wilton cake base, but I don't know if it will hold. I think I might have to transport the cake unassembled!

Thanks for ANY information!

7 replies
KHalstead Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 8:43pm
post #2 of 8

It's much more important that your dowels are perfectly straight and level than it is that your cake is perfectly straight and level!

Have you looked into the SPS plates for stacking? They make the whole thing really simple.........especially when you deliver them unstacked and assemble on site!

You might also want to invest in a cake leveler.........I have both the big and small wilton ones.....the small one was pretty much useless to me, but I use the big one every time I do a cake! I think it was around $20, and I used a 50% off coupon at AC Moore

ZoesMum Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 8:50pm
post #3 of 8