Stenciling On Cake, Help~!!!

Decorating By 2txmedics Updated 8 Mar 2010 , 10:32pm by 2txmedics

2txmedics Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2txmedics Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 4:44pm
post #1 of 9

Ok, been doing cakes for friends now for over yr...and Im still new to it, So Ive noticed how Beautiful these Damask cakes are, and just some Gorgeous Designs, I thought how hard can it be?

WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I CAN NOT DO IT!!! The only difference I did was instead of using my reg. recipe of BC that has whipped cream and half/half, I used a new one, that calls for unsalted butter.

I did my cake, and I decided I wanted to try the BC for stenciling...So I thinned it...I crumb coated the cake, iced it, and let it dry for an hr....I then Airbrushed the side and let that dry for another hr....then I went to work, IT CAME OUT HORRIBLE....

WHAT DID I DO WRONG??? HELP, INPUT PLEASE!!! MY PICTURE OF THE CAKE IS MY LAST CAKE POSTED IN, I PUT IT UP LAST NIGHT....

8 replies
Chickycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chickycakes Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 5:24pm
post #2 of 9

Don't use Buttercream. Use royal icing. There is a tutorial on the home page on how to do it.

2txmedics Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 5:42pm
post #3 of 9

I researched it for some time, and I saw a video where they used BC thinned!!! Ive seen several videos like that....would it make that much difference?

Why?

nancyg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nancyg Posted 3 Mar 2010 , 6:06pm
post #4 of 9

You can stecil on buttercrem....Of course much eaisier on fondant. However, I just did a class on stenciling. First you really need a stencil thick enough. You can use those you buy in hobby stores, but again a thicker food grade stencil is easier. I hold the stencil in place with pins. I make holes for the pins before I put stencil on cake. Because pushing pins through stencil will smash into cake. But, If pin holes are already there pins go right into hole. Use pins with a head.