Pricing...

Business By AmandaCMH Updated 2 Mar 2010 , 11:29pm by AmandaCMH

AmandaCMH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmandaCMH Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 9:54pm
post #1 of 12

Probably beating a dead horse here but...

Ive been asked to make a bridal shower cake. Two tiered, white fondant, black details, large glittery bow. I feel fairly confident making it, I know it will be great! But, Im on the fence about what to charge her, its an accquantence and Im just starting out. Any ideas/suggestions??

Thanks!

11 replies
AmandaCMH Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 10:01pm
post #2 of 12

oh, I just added a couple photos to my album so you have an idea of what Im able to do... icon_smile.gif

AmandaCMH Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 10:11pm
post #3 of 12

uh oh, is this a no-no question??? icon_redface.gif I really just need a mentor, someone who knows what theyre doing and willing to answer a few questions as I go along... I hate to plead, but I do value your opinions!

Aliwis000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Aliwis000 Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 10:14pm
post #4 of 12

I am NOT a pro, but maybe part of the lack of response is that areas of the country have different pricing. I am in Texas and a house here is much bigger then a house in Calif. of the same price..so lack of info may also have to do with it.

elliespartycake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elliespartycake Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 10:21pm
post #5 of 12

Cost of ingredients + your hourly rate multiplied by the hours it will take you = PRICE.

Pretty simple. Your hourly rate is up to you and also what the market in your area will bear. Check prices of local bakers/bakeries for a starting point. Each area of the country is different.

There is also a cake pricing matrix on this site (Alice's, I think).

Good luck

AmandaCMH Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 10:25pm
post #6 of 12

Thank you!! icon_smile.gif

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 10:53pm
post #7 of 12