Filling Help

Baking By gracesmama Updated 5 Mar 2010 , 11:15am by mellee

gracesmama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gracesmama Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 4:19am
post #1 of 6

I am new to filling cupcakes - I've only done it once before and I'm still not sure what consistency to use so it doesn't soak into the cupcake if sitting for a day or two. I was thinking pudding or possibly Cool Whip or a combination of the two or just a plain mousse. Would any of these work?

Also, when I did them last time, I ended up filling most of them too much and they cracked down the top (used the bismark tip). I found that I didn't know when I had enough in there and I didn't want them to not have enough filling. Any tips?

Thanks and I apologize if these questions are already covered somewhere.

5 replies
JustToEatCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JustToEatCake Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 5:41am
post #2 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by gracesmama

I am new to filling cupcakes - I've only done it once before and I'm still not sure what consistency to use so it doesn't soak into the cupcake if sitting for a day or two. I was thinking pudding or possibly Cool Whip or a combination of the two or just a plain mousse. Would any of these work?

Also, when I did them last time, I ended up filling most of them too much and they cracked down the top (used the bismark tip). I found that I didn't know when I had enough in there and I didn't want them to not have enough filling. Any tips?

Thanks and I apologize if these questions are already covered somewhere.

Whimsical bakehouse says she uses real whipped cream stabilized with some PS and then whatever flavorings.

In another book it had, what I thought was a great suggestion. Instead of using the bismark tube you can use a large star piping tip and use it to rout out a hole, fill it will your filling and top with frosting. You aren't going to see the hole anyway if it's frosting and it will help from busting.