Why Did This Happen?

Decorating By wendypowers Updated 11 Apr 2010 , 9:56pm by jojo76

wendypowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wendypowers Posted 1 Mar 2010 , 11:06pm
post #1 of 14

I am new to fondant, and I am trying to perfect my skill, I just don't know why this keep happening...
LL

13 replies
Jo-melia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jo-melia Posted 1 Mar 2010 , 11:20pm
post #2 of 14

Maybe your cake settling after it is covered??? Most people suggest that you leave them to settle for a while after filling and crumb coating... Could be something totally different though!

Lou71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lou71 Posted 2 Mar 2010 , 7:31pm
post #3 of 14

The cake should be cold when covering in fondant. Also check the how thick the fondont is when putting on cake. Always roll out more than you need, then place on the cake, smooth in the side and work upwards. Working downwards with cause the sugarpaste to slip and maybe tear at the edges.

If you are covering in butter cream and filling in the middle, the sides should be a little amount, too much butter icing will cause the fondant to slide. Also, for the filling in the middle, dont put too much and never put to the edge. The weight of the fondant on the cake will cause the filling to spread out.

Hope this help

Louise

juststarted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juststarted Posted 7 Mar 2010 , 10:21am
post #4 of 14

was this a sponge cake? looks to me the cake couldn't hold the weight of the fondant.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 7 Mar 2010 , 12:55pm
post #5 of 14